Samara Donald is: The Gym Coach

Make the most of your workout!

Gym Efficiency = Effectiveness

bicepsquads You’ve probably seen my motto, “Make the most of your workout!” So what does this really mean you ask? I’m glad you did.

I’m not a huge fan of spending hours in the gym. I love working out of course, but I’m too busy with job, family, and other hobbies to spend more than 45-60 minutes working out each day. Luckily, this is the best way to workout – when you are somewhat pressed for time.

Why? Well, when you have all the time in the world, you tend to just “hang out” in the gym. Been there? Me too. If I go to the gym for 90 minutes, I’ll often think “ok I’ve got time, I’ll just walk on the treadmill for 30 min, go do some weights, then finish off with the elliptical.” I get distracted – I sit for 1-2 minutes between each weight set, and by the end, I’ve barely broken a sweat.

But when I know I’ve got 45 minutes in and out, I am super efficient with the workout. I make a plan (even if it’s on the way to the gym and in my head), I take minimal breaks in between weight sets and go for heavier weights then usual. For cardio, since I’ve generally got 20 minutes (after a 3 min warm up and 25 min of weights), I do interval bursts of all-out 30-60 second sprint/recover cycles.

Both these styles of working out- interval training for cardio, working with heavier weights with minimal rest, have long been proven the most effective ways to burn fat and build lean muscle. And given it takes less time, you can be efficient, and …. (wait for it…) ….MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR WORKOUT!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2010 by in fitness.
