Samara Donald is: The Gym Coach

Make the most of your workout!

The Slim Down plan

backontrackI’m getting ready for my wedding in June, and it’s time to start shifting my workout plan. Normally, I focus a lot of time on weight training, mostly because I HATE CARDIO. Smile But even I have to admit there is no way around a little heart pumping if you want to shed a few extra pounds. Yes, even I want to slim down 5-10 lbs before the big day.

So.. thought I’d share my new weekly schedule that I’ll use for the next 3 months leading up to the wedding. The shift for me is ensuring a minimum of 30 mins cardio per day for 4 days, and Yoga or other fitness cardio class 2x per week. This keeps the schedule interesting, and the 2 days of instructor led sessions create an extra push to keep up momentum. This method of mixing weights/cardio on the same day is similar to my Fit & Firm workout program.

If you too are looking to shed a final 5-10 lbs, this is a great program to follow. Today I’ll review the weekly plan, and in future posts, I’ll give more details of the specific workouts:

MONDAY: 5 min warm up / 20 min shoulders (weights) / 30 min cycle / stretch

TUESDAY: 5 min warm up / 20 min legs (weights) / 30 min run (intervals) / stretch

WEDNESDAY: Hot Yoga (60 min) [or different cardio class such as step/cycle/boot-camp/etc]

THURSDAY: 5 min warm up / 20 min biceps & triceps (weights) / 30 min cycle / stretch

FRIDAY: 5 min warm up / 20 min back & abs (weights) / 30 min run (intervals) / stretch

SATURDAY: Hot Yoga (60 min) [or different cardio class such as step/cycle/boot-camp/etc]

SUNDAY: Rest

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2011 by in fitness.
