Samara Donald is: The Gym Coach

Make the most of your workout!

A is for ALMONDS!

Okay everybody! We’re going to start the alphabet game.. with fitness and health of course! Today I will start with one of my very favorite foods – ALMONDS!! (Second only to Avocados of course!!).

Do you know how much I love almonds? I bet not. My fiance calls me a squirrel for as much nuts as I eat. I love em! Not only are the delicious snack, but so good for you.

Top 3 reasons Almonds so good for you:

  1. Almonds are high in monounsaturated fat – associated with lower risk of heart disease
  2. High in Vitamin E, almonds give you an antioxidant kick
  3. With high levels of magneseum and potassium, almonds encourage weight loss and aid post workout recovery

Read more at http://whfoods.org/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=20

These days, Almonds are the source of many dairy free items from milk to ice cream, providing those with dairy allergies (LIKE ME!) a yummy alternative. Check out the Almond Dream brand, one of my favs: http://www.tastethedream.com/

So go nuts with ALMONDS!

(tomorrow we’ll move to B… is for….??!!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2011 by in fitness.
