Samara Donald is: The Gym Coach

Make the most of your workout!

Perseverance

per·se·ver·ance

/ˌpɜrsəˈvɪərəns/ Show Spelled [pur-suh-veer-uhns] Show IPA

noun

1. steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.

2.Theology . continuance in a state of grace to the end, leading to eternal salvation.

 

Samara_dec09_0841I had to look up the word today to confirm my choice of the word in my “5 P formula for success”. Indeed, that is precisely (another P!) the word I wanted to use.

Earlier when I blogged about my thoughts on my Training plan, I discussed that I specifically did not include “Execution” in my 5 P formula – not just because there’s not a good P word (I could think of) to describe execution – but because I am convinced that simple execution is not enough.

Perseverance – indeed as the dictionary stats – is continuing on your path despite discouragement or obstacles in your way. Keeping your mind in the game – with grace – to the end.

Yes, you have to get the work done. Yes, you have to eat to your meal plan. But one day of good execution does not a winner make. What is most important is persistent execution: working out when you really don’t fell you want to/can; eating egg whites multiple times a day even when you think you can’t stand one more; avoiding the doughnut plate 5 days in a row at work, and standing in front of the mirror each morning perfecting your poses.

Finishing week 5 this Saturday, I have been reminding myself of this process all week. I am now a little more tired, a little more sick of the diet, and a lot more susceptible to going off course.

This is my new mantra – when I get tired, food temptations or some other obstacle:

Keep your Purpose top of mind, and your Priorities in order. Follow the Plan in hand. Perseverance is what will get you through, and so long as you also have Patience, YOU WILL SUCCEED.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2013 by in fitness.
